Reputation today

The good - or less good - reputation of people has accompanied and moved the public for centuries. The fact that reputation is also important for companies has probably never been disputed, but for a long time it was not important in everyday business life.
 
It was only a few decades ago that US economists began to explore the connection between quality, price and reputation and introduced the term into modern scientific literature. And it was only late in the 20th century that the subject was successfully transferred from the scientific level to the awareness of the corporate world. The business discipline "Reputation Management" was born.

 

Today, reputation is one of the great intangible assets of a company. In times when the products and services offered are becoming increasingly interchangeable, other factors come to the fore. Issues such as purpose, sustainability, corporate responsibility and corporate governance are shaping the external perception. Companies are called upon to take a stand on the major economic and social problems - e.g. environment and climate, equal opportunities, diversity and inclusion, data security. Who you are as a company has long been more important than what you sell.     
 
Reputation represents the collective perception that results from the public and personal exchange of individual images as well as personal experiences. Reputation arises from perceptions in the past. And thus influences behaviour in the future. Companies with a good reputation are economically more successful, are preferred by customers, attract the better talents, are more interesting for investors, are more resistant to crises and enjoy greater public trust- they receive the unrestricted "license to operate".
 
Reputation today has another dimension of significant importance: the digital traces we leave on the web and social media every day; all kinds of evaluations of companies, organisations, products or people lead to a "social score", a digital reputation - reputation as an online currency in the digital society.    
 
Leaving the company reputation to itself is negligent. An actively managed reputation brings transparency to the complex issue, shows how it is perceived by the main stakeholder groups and enables targeted management of corporate reputation. Professional reputation management thus creates the basis for better corporate results at all levels.

© 2020 zihlmannpartner | Büro 65 | Bahnhofstrasse 65 | CH-8001 Zürich | info@zihlmannpartner.ch | +41 44 500 22 05 | 
  • Linkedin_Logo_edited

Netzwerkpartner

CRO_SWISS_WhiteMen_Pfade_200201.png

Reputation heute

Der gute – oder weniger gute – Ruf von Personen begleitet und bewegt die Öffentlichkeit seit Jahrhunderten. Dass die Reputation auch für Unternehmen wichtig ist, wurde wohl nie bestritten, war jedoch lange im Geschäftsalltag nicht von Bedeutung.

 

Erst vor wenigen Jahrzehnten begannen US-Ökonomen, die Verbindung von Qualität, Preis und Reputation zu erforschen und führten den Begriff in die moderne Wissenschaftsliteratur ein. Und erst spät im 20. Jahrhundert gelang es, das Thema von der wissenschaftlichen Ebene in das Bewusstsein der Unternehmenswelt zu überführen. Die Geschäftsdisziplin «Reputation Management» war geboren.

 

Heute gehört Reputation zu den grossen immateriellen Vermögenswerten einer Firma. In Zeiten, wo die angebotenen Produkte und Dienstleistungen immer austauschbarer werden, rücken andere Faktoren in den Vordergrund. Themen wie Purpose, Nachhaltigkeit, Corporate Responsibility oder Corporate Governance prägen die Aussenwahrnehmung. Unternehmen sind gefordert, zu den grossen ökonomischen und sozialen Problemen – z.B. Umwelt und Klima, Chancengleichheit, Diversität und Inklusion, Datensicherheit – Stellung zu beziehen. Wer Sie als Unternehmen sind, ist längst wichtiger, als was Sie verkaufen.     

 

Reputation stellt die kollektive Wahrnehmung dar, die aus dem öffentlichen und persönlichen Austausch individueller Images sowie aus eigenen Erfahrungen resultiert. Reputation entsteht aufgrund der Wahrnehmungen in der Vergangenheit. Und beeinflusst damit das Verhalten in der Zukunft. Unternehmen mit einer guten Reputation sind wirtschaftlich erfolgreicher, werden von Kunden bevorzugt, ziehen die besseren Talente an, sind interessanter für Investoren, resistenter gegen Krisen und geniessen ein grösseres Vertrauen in der Öffentlichkeit – sie erhalten die uneingeschränkte «license to operate».

 

Reputation hat heute noch eine weitere Dimension von bedeutender Tragweite: Die digitalen Spuren, die wir täglich im Netz und auf den Social Media hinterlassen; alle Arten von Bewertungen von Firmen, Organisationen, Produkten oder Personen führen zu einem "Social Score", einer digitalen Reputation - Reputation als Online-Währung in der digitalen Gesellschaft.    

 

Die Unternehmensreputation sich selbst zu überlassen, ist fahrlässig. Eine aktiv gemanagte Reputation bringt Transparenz in das komplexe Thema, zeigt die Wahrnehmung bei den wesentlichen Stakeholder-Gruppen und ermöglicht eine gezielte Steuerung der Corporate Reputation. Ein professionelles Reputationsmanagement schafft somit die Grundlagen für bessere Unternehmensergebnisse auf allen Ebenen.

© 2020 zihlmannpartner | Büro 65 | Bahnhofstrasse 65 | CH-8001 Zürich | info@zihlmannpartner.ch | +41 44 500 22 05 | 
  • Linkedin_Logo_edited

Netzwerkpartner

CRO_SWISS_WhiteMen_Pfade_200201.png